Archive

Archive for June 30, 2010

“I do … want a divorce!”

June 30, 2010 1 comment

I stumbled across this article discussing the new trend in Japan to hold a ceremony formalizing the parties entrance into the divorce process to legally end their relationship. I have seen announcement cards that are used to notify family and friends that a person has divorced. I know an event planner who has worked on parties celebrating someone return to singlehood. This is the first time, however, that I have about a formal ceremony to commemorate the dissolution of the marriage.

I am not sure, however, if couples going through a contentious divorce would be able to work together for the planning of a divorce ceremony, let alone share the cost for the event.

I appreciate the symbolism of the having the rings smashed. For some people however, a divorce is not something that they welcome.

It would be interesting to see if this idea catches on in other countries. I welcome your thoughts on this issue.